bootstrap responsive templates


To be a team of formidable leader that propagate change through continuous learning and penetration into Geospatial Institutions


To train and raise leaders that are ethical, dependable and able to chart the course of Surveying Profession and NIS to a greater height


Integrity, Professinalism, etiquette, determination and humility is our core values


The Young Surveyors Network (YSN) is the International organization amongst the following categories of person under the survey profession:
♦ Aged 35 years and below,
♦ Students of Surveying and all related studies, Young Surveying Professionals (YSP),
♦ Young Professionals of Surveying and all related studies within 10 years of graduation from a Bachelor or Masters degree. 

The network was established as a Commission Working Group 1.2 under the International Federation of Surveyors (FIG) during her 2006 Congress in Munich, Germany, but upgraded to Young Surveyors Network in Eilat, Israel in 2009 with the mission of facilitating an international network of young surveyors and as a result:
• To promote international opportunities and experiences for young surveyors;
• To improve the global image of surveying;
• To represent young surveyor interests within the FIG;
• To improve young surveyor awareness of and involvement in FIG;
• To support local, regional, national and international networks of young surveyors by providing a forum for sharing knowledge, skills and experiences. 


On the 27th of June, 2012 a meeting of Young Surveyors in Nigeria was called by the leadership of the Nigerian Institution of Surveyors at the Kwara Hotels, Ilorin, Kwara State during her Annual General Meetings. The meeting was presided over by Surv. Angela Kesiena Etuonovbe, mnis; then Assistant Secretary of the NIS and present Chair FIG Commission 4 (Hydrography), and facilitated by Surv. Winston Ayeni, mnis; then Registrar of the Surveyors Council of Nigeria (SURCON), alongside Benedicta Amarachi Ugwulebo, then African Representative of the YSN. About 115 Young Surveyors and 97 undergraduate Students, representing 22 out of the 36 States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, including the FCT, Abuja were in attendance.
In recognition of the numerous opportunities provided by the YSN towards international and national development of the surveying profession, the following resolutions were reached;

♦ National, Zonal and State integration of the YSN should be encouraged.
♦ States that are yet to inaugurate the YSN should be encouraged to urgently comply. 
♦ All State representatives of the YSN should meet on the 28th June, 2012 under the supervision of the leadership of the NIS, to elect the National Executive Committee of the FIG YSN, Nigeria.
The meeting created an avenue for YS in Nigeria to be acquainted with the activities of the FIG YSN, thus promoting the need to encourage the participation of members in its programs at all levels.
Election and inauguration of the pioneer Executive Council of the YSN, Nigeria
On the 28th of June, 2012 the NIS President, Surv. Yakubu Maikano, fnis accompanied by Surv. Angela Kesiena Etuonovbe, mnis conducted an election for the emergence of the national executives from amongst the present State Representatives. 

YSN Pioneers in Nigeria 

The National Executive Council should comprise of the following officers:  
1. National Coordinator
2. Deputy National Coordinator
3. National Secretary
4. Financial Secretary
5. Treasurer
6. Communication Officer
7. One representative each of the 6 Geo-political zones as Zonal Coordinator  

The following are the elected officers and their respective portfolios:
1. Aro-lambo Yusuf A. - National Coordinator
2. Pamela Ibikunle  - Deputy National Coordinator
3. Ajie U. Emmanuel - National Secretary
4. Nnam Victor C. - Financial Secretary
5. Dejo Adesola A. - Treasurer
6. Onwuzuligbo Chukwubueze - Communication Officer
Zonal Coordinators:
1. Okoro Emmanuel C. South/East
2. Babalola Kehinde H. South/West
3. Emmanuel Obarafo South/South
4. Timothy Samuel North/Central
5. Ibrahim Saleh G. North/East
6. Samson Maikano North/West

The elected National Executive Committee members were formally presented and subsequently inaugurated same day during the NIS Congress meeting at the Kwara Hotels, Ilorin.  

We use cookies to give you the best experience. Read our cookie policy.